The six thieves, thugs and criminal prodigies who ruined my life, and made it better: Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

 

Hello everyone! I’m just spitting out reviews aren’t I? Well, I was writing the January wrap-up and realized it was going to be too long if I talked about the four books I read. So I decided to post individual reviews AND still do a wrap up with links to the full length review.

And without further ado, here’s my review for Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. I had a great time writing this. And I hope I convinced you to pick it up in the future.

The next book I completed in the month of January is Six of Crows. I can literally drone on and on about this book because it was THAT GOOD.

Six of Crows follows cast of six kids, who aren’t your most morally right characters. They’re essentially a gang composed of thieves and criminals. You interested yet? They are called the Dregs and their boss is named Kaz Brekker, aka Dirtyhands, a criminal prodigy, who is offered a chance at a lot of money if and only if he breaks into the Ice Court, an unbreachable prison, and a breaks out a scientist who has concocted a drug that can release havoc on the magic world. From there, he assembles his team of five others: Inej, Matthais, Nina, Jesper and Wylan – all characters you will fall in love with.Some of them have worked together before and some have not, but they don’t trust each other, yet they still have to rely on one another to get the job done. (I look to call this book: how Suicide Squad should have been). And from there, the reader is transported into an unforgettable heist story that will leave you turning each page asking, “What could possibly happen next?”

I absolutely loved this book. And I’m trying my hardest not to cuss for emphasis, but yes, I loved this book. I knew from page 50 that this story would stick with me for a long time. More specifically, I fell in love with the cast of diverse characters. Them not being the most moral characters was refreshing. In a lot of stories we follow the typical “hero” narrative where they always want to do the right thing and etc. etc. But for this story, we get to look inside “the opposite side of the law.”

While reading Six of Crows, I actually laughed out loud. No, it’s not the “lol” you send to your friends even though you have a straight face, it was actual laughter. The dialogue was responsible for that. It was witty, fast and unpredictable.

But I have to talk about my faves. My OTP. The power couple of the year. Yes my friends, it’s Kaz and Inej. Now I won’t say too much but what I will say is that they don’t do the normal stuff romantic pairings do in most YA books (if you’re a YA reader, you know), and I felt the love, the admiration, the want to tear-my-heart-out feeling like never before. I want to say much more, but I’d rather you experience it for yourself.

I had the pleasure of reading the second and final book in the series, Crooked Kingdom, in the month of January. I can’t say what it’s about, for the adventures that take place in Six of Crows carry over to this one. But, it’s as good as the first one. At least in my opinion.

This series reignited my love for YA fantasy. It’s fast-paced, funny, full of adventure and memorable characters. I loved everything about this series. If you haven’t read any YA fantasy, start with this one. And look at the colors of those pages. How could you not want to own these books?

NO MOURNERS. NO FUNERALS.  

3 thoughts on “The six thieves, thugs and criminal prodigies who ruined my life, and made it better: Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

