Beginning the 2017 Reading Year: January Wrap-Up

jan-wrap-up

We can all agree with each passing year, time seems to be going faster. It’s already February! Nonetheless, January was a great reading month for me despite things that happened in my personal life and the start of a new quarter. I can say for a fact, that January was a month of fantasy for ALL the books I read fall under the fantasy genre. I sort of needed it though. I think everyone needs to escape once in a while.

 

Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss 

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

The Name of the Wind was the first book I finished this year. This is a high adult fantasy following the story of Kvothe, a skilled individual in magic. The story is told through his own voice, and you follow him from his childhood years to adulthood. If you’re interested in reading more about the story and want to read more of my thoughts, here’s my full review. 

 

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The next book I completed in the month of January is Six of Crows. This story follows six kids in a gang called The Dregs. They are thieves, thugs and criminals, and they’ve been given the opportunity to earn a lot of money if they are able to breach an unbreachable prison. It’s a fast-paced heist story full of morally challenged characters you can’t help but root for. I adore this book. If you want to read more of my thoughts (and you should), my full review is right here.

 

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The third book I finished this month (and I’m very proud that I finished because this was a hunker), was Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. This is the fifth installment in Maas’s Throne of Glass series which follows a renowned assassin, Celaena and all her endeavors.

I can’t say what Empire of Storms is about because it would just spoil the series if you haven’t read it yet. But what I can say is that I didn’t enjoy this installment compared to the last four books. A lot of factors contributed to this. For example, a pivotal character was missing from the entirety of the book and I had absolutely no interest in the main love story (they were horny 100% of the time and I just got so tired of it). BUT the side romances were where it was at.

Now if you haven’t started this series, don’t let my negative comments about this installment affect you from starting this series. It is one of the most popular YA fantasy series, and for good reason. Maas is an excellent writer. And although I didn’t enjoy this as much as I would have liked, I’m still very much excited to pick up the next book.

 

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The last book I completed in the month of January was Crooked Kingdom. This is the second and final book to the Six of Crows duology.

The events that occurred in Six of Crows carry into this book and to put things shortly -chaos ensues. I ADORE this series and have been recommending it to everyone. This is the kind of series I could only hope to write one day. It reignited my love for Young Adult and maybe it will ignite your love for Young Adult if it isn’t your genre. Make it your next read!

And that’s it for my January wrap-up! Here’s to a successful February reading month.

Keep up with me: Miss Janine Lano – Instagram 

2 thoughts on “Beginning the 2017 Reading Year: January Wrap-Up

  1. TheAliceFan says:

    Six Crows and Crooked Kingdom! Have been wanting to read them for quite a while now as I see them being praised fairly often. As for the Throne of Glass, the amount of money I need to purchase them all hampers me from reading them for now 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

