February & March Wrap-Up 

Happy April everyone! I know I didn’t post an individual February and March Wrap-up but that’s because papers were due at school and finals were coming up, plus February was just a sad reading month for me. Which is why I tried to make up for it in the month of March. So without further ado, let’s get started.

Confess by Colleen Hoover 


I’m going to be completely honest. I disliked this book. I don’t remember anything that happened or even the characters names. I only remember art is somewhat involved. I saw this book for a very low price on Bookoutlet and I’ve read Slammed by Colleen Hoover which I enjoyed and I was kind of in the mood for some absurd romance since it was February. But the story to me was just so bland and it reminded me of why I rarely read Contemporary or more specifically, Contemporary Romance because they’re JUST. SO. BORING. It’s completely predictable. The girl and the guy meet, the guy is “mysterious” and problematic but of course the girls like, “I don’t care, there’s something that draws me to him and I’ve never felt this connection before,” and another male character gets introduced who is completely irrelevant and annoying and says to the girl, “I’m better for you. Be with me!” Of course the girl says “no” and there’s an unnecessary sex scene in the middle that somehow “fixes” everything and I was saying to myself, “When will this end?!” The only reason I finished this book was because I needed to finish at least one book in the month of February and this book was short enough.

The problem is, I do enjoy romantic movies or novels to an extent. Even though it’s unrealistic and completely absurd, as long as it’s entertaining, I’ll enjoy it. But I wasn’t even entertained in this book. This book has a lot of good reviews on Goodreads and I was trying to get myself to think alongside the crowd but I just couldn’t do it. I don’t think I’ll be returning to Contemporary/Contemporary Romance anytime soon.

 

Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini


Trial by Fire is a YA fantasy following a girl named Lily who is practically allergic to everything, and when a life-threatening accident occurs, Lily is transported to an alternate universe where her alternative self, Lillian, is an evil, all powerful woman crucible.

When I started this book, I was really excited, but then I was left feeling disappointed. (I’ll tell you a secret, I didn’t even finish the book). The back of the book reads: I remember what I must do, even if it makes me the villain of my own story. So I was excited! This book does have a lot of potential but it just didn’t hook me quite enough. I’m not sure if it was the characters, the world or the storyline. It just didn’t run up my alley.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Americanah centers around the themes of love and race, and it follows a girl named Ifemelu and a boy named Obinze and their struggles with trying to find a better life when their home country of Nigeria starts to fall under strict military dictatorship. Not only is this a love story, it also deals with the topics like being an immigrant in America and race in America. As readers, you get to see Ifemelu and Obinze as young teenagers to adulthood, and see how they navigate through it all.

Thank God for this book. This saved me from a horrible February reading month. I previously read Purple Hibiscus by Adichie and was dying to pick up something else by her. Her writing is so effortlessly perfect I just want to drink it up (if that makes any sense). Although it’s a pretty long novel, you’re going to find yourself gliding through it. The characters are vibrant and full of life. I appreciate Ifemelu so much. She’s hard-working, speaks truthfully and is overall a likeable character and all I wanted for her was for her to be happy. And did I mention she’s a blog writer? Woo! The novel also handles “sensitive” topics in an endearing, honest way and the topics discussed are essential and educational, especially for the times we are in right now. By the end of the novel, I wanted more. I just want more from this author and can’t wait for her next debut.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Mass

A Court of Mist and Fury is the second book to Maas’ “Beauty and the Beast” retelling. The first being A Court of Thorns and Roses. I don’t want to say what this installment is about because it will spoil what happens in the first, but the first one starts with a girl named Feyre. She’s a hunter and provides for her family who is living in poverty, and one day while hunting, she kills a Fairy in cold blood. For her actions, she must repay them by living with Tamlin, High Lord of the Spring Court. And you can guess what happens next.
But this second book is way better than the first. If you’re hesitant to pick this up or looking for some great YA fantasy, read the first book quickly so you could read the second book immediately. My favorite booktuber, PeruseProject, descriped reading this book like if you were taking drugs – and she was right. I’ll just say one reason why it’s like taking drugs -Rhysand. Maas is great at writing dark, mysterious male characters that would just piss me off if they were in a regular setting, but in fantasy settings? Perfection. I literally cannot wait till the third and final book coming out this May!

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard 

Truthwitch is the first book to Dennard’s Witchland series which follows two female best friends who live in a world full of witches. One is a Truthwitch, and she can basically discern when someone is lying or telling the truth, and her kind is very rare and sought after. Her best friend is a Threadwitch, and she can see people’s emotions, how people feel when they interact with one another and see how everyone is somehow connected.

I was pleasantly surprised with this novel. I’ll be honest, I am one to judge the cover of books so when I saw this, I didn’t think I’d read it. But it had amazing reviews and is blurbed by Sarah J. Maas so how could I not? The female friendship in this book is so refreshing. I don’t think I’ve read something that centers around a friendship. Sometimes when a romantic interest is introduced, the series starts to form solely around the couple. But with this, there are romantic relationships that surface, but that doesn’t erase the strong foundation of the two female witches. They’re badass and can stand on their own and it’s a blast reading from each of their perspectives. I heard the second book, Windwitch is just as amazing as the first and I heard it has more world building, which I thought the first one was missing. All in all, I am very glad I decided to give this series a shot.

Unfiltered by Lily Collins 


This was my first ever autobiography read! And I had the pleasure to meet her at The Grove alongside my best friend where she read an excerpt from her book, answered questions and met the 400 people there. What basically inspired her to write this book was her fans. Particularly on Instagram, women would post their stories bravely, but always with the preamble of “You probably won’t relate since you’re a big star and all.” And Lily would say, “If you only knew!” So then, Unfiltered was born.

There were definitely a few topics discussed in this book that I related too, like putting someone’s happiness before your own in a relationship and the struggle to be happy with the way you look. She emphasized the importance of self-love and independence. She shared her troubling past with abusive relationships and eating disorders. She was basically unfiltered. The tone of the whole thing was light and fun, (even though there was some deep topics) just like she was speaking directly to you. I’ve always been a fan of Lily. I love her movies such as Stuck in Love and Love, Rosie so overall, I did enjoy this read. It made me open into reading more autobiographies and it made me remember that even though they’re celebrities, they feel the same emotions we do and have personal struggles of their own.

                                            –

That’s all I’ve read for the months of February and March! It was fun reading these books and hopefully I helped you along in what to read next. Till next month! (:

Leave a Reply

